Holistic Health Learning Center

Image: Photos of SF State students and scenes from around campus

Holistic Health

Learning Center

Integrating Self, Culture & Nature

Alternative Therapies

Acupuncture & Traditional Chinese Medicine

Acupuncture.Com, Chinese medical ed and products. http://www.acupuncture.com
Alternative Medicine Foundation, Chinese traditional med. http://www.amfoundation.org/tcm.htm
American Academy of Medical Acupuncture. http://www.medicalacupuncture.org
Journal of Eastern Health and Fitness. http://qi-journal.com
Journal of Chinese Medicine. www.jcm.co.uk
Oriental Style, traditional Chinese medicine philosophy. www.ourorient.com/medicine.htm


Art as Healing

American Art Therapy Association. www.arttherapy.org
American Dance Therapy Association. www.adta.org
American Music Therapy Association. www.musictherapy.org
American Society of Group Psychotherapy & Psychodrama. www.asgpp.org
Arts and Healing Network, exploring the healing potential of art. www.artheals.org/start.html
Art as Healing, for self, others and Earth, M. Samuels, MD. www.artashealing.org
Arts in Therapy, links for creative arts therapies, world-wide.www.arttherapy.com
European Consortium for Art Therapies Education. www.uni-muenster.de/Ecarte
Coloring Therapy, for self-discovery and self-healing. www.colourtherapyhealing.com
National Association for Drama Therapy. www.nadt.org
National Association for Poetry Therapy. www.poetrytherapy.org
National Coalition of Creative Arts Therapies Association. www.nccata.org
Northern California Art Therapy Association. www.norcata.com
Southern California Art Therapy Association. www.socalata.org/at

Take an Art Break: 77 Million Paintings, constantly evolving art, meditative. www.youtube.com/watch?v=_06fTFFMoi0&feature=related


Ayurvedic Medicine

The Ayurvedic Institute, Vasant Lad, Director. http://www.ayurveda.com
Ayurvedic Research Resources. http://www.amfoundation.org/ayurveda.htm
California College of Ayurveda. http://www.ayurvedacollege.com
European Institute of Vedic Studies. http://www.atreya.com/ayurveda
Light on Ayurveda Education Foundation. http://www.loaj.com
The Joyful Belly, ayurvedic recipes for self healing. http://www.joyfulbelly.com


Biofeedback, Relaxation & Mind-Body Training

Association for Applied Psychophysiology and Biofeedback. http://www.aapb.org
Biofeedback Certification Institute of America (BCIA). http://www.bcia.org
Biofeedback Foundation of Europe. http://www.bfe.org
Biofeedback Society of California. http://www.biofeedbackcalifornia.org
Harvard University Medical School, Mind Body Medical Institute. http://www.massgeneral.org/bhi
International Society for the Study of Neuronal Regulation. http://www.isnr.org
Intl. Society for the Study of Subtle Energies and Energy Medicine. http://www.issseem.org
Meditation Study, Am. University. http://www.stressfreeschools.org/research/american_university.html


Body Therapies: Touch

Am. Massage Therapy Assn., art and science of massage therapy. http://www.amtamassage.org
Associated Bodywork and Massage Professionals. http://www.abmp.com
Aston-Patterning. http://www.astonkinetics.com
Acupressure Institute. http://www.acupressure.com
Cranial Sacral Therapy. http://www.craniosacraltherapy.org and www.upledger.com
Massage, revitalizes anatomy and well-being. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Massage
Massage Magazine, exploring today's touch therapies. http://www.massagemag.com
Reflexology Association of America. http://www.reflexology-usa.org
Rolf Institute, Rolfing/deep tissue work. http://www.rolf.org


Body Therapies: Movement & Neuromuscular Re-Education

Alexander Technique, the comprehensive guide. http://www.alexandertechnique.com
Middendorf Breath Institute. http://www.breathexperience.com
Feldenkrais Guild of North America. http://www.feldenkrais.com/aboutfm.html
Hanna Somatic Education, therapeutic movement and somatic ed. http://www.somatics.com
Somatics, Journal of Mind/Body Arts and Sciences. http://www.somaticsed.com/magJournal.html


Body Therapies: Body-Oriented Psychotherapy

American Dance Therapy Association. http://www.adta.org
Authentic Movement Institute. http://www.authenticmovement-usa.com
EMDR Institute – eye movement and desensitization. http://www.emdr.com
The Focusing Institute, healing as shifts of embodied knowing. http://www.focusing.org
Hakomi Institute / Hakomi Therapy. http://www.hakomiinstitute.com
Somatic Experiencing, a naturalistic approach to healing trauma. http://www.traumahealing.com
US Association for Body Psychotherapy. http://www.usabp.org


Chiropractic Medicine

American Chiropractic Association. http://www.amerchiro.org
International Chiropractors Association. http://www.chiropractic.org
Chiropractor Directory, 35,000 listings by region. http://www.chirodirectory.com
Chiropractic News. http://www.chiro.org


Herbology & Plant Medicine

American Botanical Council. http://www.herbalgram.org
Cognitive Enhancement Research Institute. http://www.ceri.com
Eclectic Institute Inc.http://www.eclecticherb.com
Herb Growing and Marketing Network. http://www.herbnet.com
Herb Med, neutral data underlying the medicinal use of herbs. http://www.herbmed.org
Herb Research Foundation - herbs and herbal medicine for health. http://www.herbs.org
International Association for Cannabis Medicine. http://www.cannabis-med.org
Multidisciplinary Assn for Psychedelic Studies (MAPS). http://www.maps.org
Medline Plus - Herbal Medicine. http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/herbalmedicine.html
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements. http://dietary-supplements.info.nih.gov


Homeopathy / Homeopathic Medicine

Council for Homeopathic Certification. http://www.homeopathicdirectory.com
Home study, schools, pharmacies, journals, seminars etc. http://www.hpathy.com
Homeopathic Educational Services, articles. http://www.homeopathic.com
Homeopathic Nurses.Org. http://homeopathicnurses.org
Homeopathic remedies for animals. http://www.vetnat.com
National Center for Homeopathy. http://www.homeopathic.org
No. American Network of Homeopathic Educators. http://www.homeopathyeducation.org
North American Society of Homeopaths. http://www.homeopathy.org


Naturopathic Medicine / Natural Remedies (Integrated)

American Association of Naturopathic Physicians. http://www.naturopathic.org
Association of Accredited Naturopathic Medical Colleges. http://www.aanmc.org
California Association of Naturopathic Physicians. http://www.calnd.org
Physicians Committee for Responsible Medicine, Doctors and laypersons working together for
reform of federal nutrition policies, ethical research and health promotion. http://www.pcrm.org
Mother Nature.Com, natural remedies and treatment info. http://www.mothernature.com/library
Natural Holistic Health Blog, native/natural remedies for health. http://www.natural-holistic-health.com

SF State Home