University Planning Advisory Council

Image: Photos of SF State students and scenes from around campus

Council Members


Academic Senate Chair Shawn Whalen serves as chair of the University Planning Advisory Council, which is comprised of the following:

  • Sheldon Axler, dean, College of Science and Engineering
  • Frank Bayliss, professor of biology
  • Robert Cherny, professor of history
  • Tendai Chitewere, assistant professor of Liberal Studies
  • Robert Collins, assistant professor of American Indian studies
  • Kurt Daw, dean, College of Creative Arts
  • Nancy Hayes, dean, College of Business
  • Patricia Joost, executive assistant to the dean, College of Education
  • Leroy Morishita, executive vice president for Administration & Finance and Chief Financial Officer
  • Suzanne Pullen, student
  • Linda Wanek, professor and chair, Physical Therapy graduate program
  • Shawn Whalen, lecturere and director of Forensics, Communication Studies


Members are all appointed at large and do not represent any particular constituencies.


Council Affiliates:

  • Robert A. Corrigan, president
  • Sue V. Rosser, provost


Consultants to the Council:

  • Linda Buckley, associate vice president for Academic Planning & Educational Effectiveness
  • John Kim, associate vice president for Academic Resources


Staff to the Council:

  • Jason Porth, Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the President


SF State Home