Bulletin--Student Fees

STUDENT FEES

Fees and Other Expenses

Schedule of Fees

Refund of Fees


FINANCIAL AID

How It Works

Applying for Financial Aid

General Eligibility Requirements

Estimating Expenses

Types of Grants, Loans, and Scholarships

Financial Aid Deadlines


FEES AND OTHER EXPENSES

Legal residents of California are not charged tuition. The following reflects applicable fees and nonresident tuition for the semester system. The total fee paid per semester will be determined by the number of units taken, including those taken in excess of fifteen. Cash, personal or certified check, Master Card, and VISA may be used for payment of student fees.

No fees of any kind shall be required of or collected from those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provisions of the Alan Pattee Scholarship Act.

INSTALLMENT PLANS

All students who are eligible to enroll may use one of the installment plans offered by the university, with the exceptions of students with financial aid deferments, approved waivers or subsidies, or students who defaulted on their installment plan agreement in a previous semester. Students with outstanding financial obligations must pay their obligations before or at the time of their enrolling in the current semester's installment plan. More information and a copy of the installment plan contract are included in each semester's Class Schedule.

SCHEDULE OF FEES

Fees are subject to change without advance notice by action of the Trustees of The California State University and the campus.

Regular Session					0.1 to 		6.1 or more
(Per Semester-Credit or Audit) 6.0 units units
All resident students must pay the following regular registration fees:

State University Fee				$459.00		$792.00
Local Fees:
Student Body Center Fee 52.00 52.00
Student Body Association Fee 42.00 42.00
Student Health Service Fee 65.00 65.00
Health Facilities Fee 3.00 3.00
Identification Card Fee 2.00 2.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee 35.00 35.00
Total per semester $658.00 $991.00

The Chancellor or designee is authorized to waive the State University Fee for graduate students who are employed as California State University Graduate Assistants or Teaching Associates.

Nonresident Tuition (U.S. and Foreign)
In addition to the regular registration fees for all students listed above, non-legal residents of the State of California must pay $246 per unit (or fraction) for nonresident tuition.

Duplicate Degree Tuition (Second Baccalaureate or Second Master's Degree)
Students who have earned a degree equivalent to or higher than the degree awarded by the program in which they enroll must pay $150 per unit in addition to the local fees of $199 stated above. Students subject to Duplicate Degree Tuition are not required to pay the State University Fee.

Open University (Concurrent Enrollment)

Fee per unit (lecture-discussion course) 			 $100.00
Fee per unit (laboratory course) $125.00

Summer Sessions and Special Sessions

Fees per semester unit (lecture-discussion)

Instructional Fee						$101.50
Student Activity Fee						    .50
Student Center Fee						   1.00
Total per unit							$103.00

Miscellaneous Fees

								Maximum
Fee Per Item
Application for admission or readmission (non-refundable) 	$55.00
Late registration $25.00
Failure to meet administratively required appointment or
time limit (late fee) $20.00
Check returned for any cause $20.00
[The university reserves the right to refuse to accept personal checks from persons who have previously written bad checks.]

Replacement of items lost or broken, including laboratory 
equipment (minimum charge $1.00) cost
Transcript of record $4.00
Graduation fee $40.00
Binding thesis, first copy $25.00
Each additional copy $15.00

Library Overdue and Lost Item Fees: Books and Other Library Materials

Fees are computed on a per transaction basis, which includes all items, even those of various kinds (e.g., a book, a slide set, and a group of pamphlets), that were charged out on a single loan transaction.

Excessive Use Fees

Fees for excessive use are computed from the time the material was due until the time the material is returned or declared lost.

							$ Per Transaction

Hourly or Overnight Loans for Items Placed on Reserve Status (whether in the Reserve Book Room or other areas of the library)
	Per hour 						 1.00
Maximum per transaction 25.00

Hourly or Overnight Loans for Other Items (items not on reserve status)

	Per hour						 0.25
Maximum per transaction 10.00

Loans of One to Six Days

	Per day							 1.00
Maximum per transaction 25.00

Loans of Seven or More Days

	Per day							0.25
Maximum per transaction 25.00

Lost Book, Periodical, or Media Fees

	Replacement Cost + Processing Charge

Damage Fees

	From 50 cents to Replacement Cost + Processing Charge

NOTE: Replacement Cost is based on a predetermined average cost of an academic book. At present the Processing Charge is as follows: 1992-93$20.00 per item.

Duplicate Degree Tuition

The California State University is required by law to charge duplicate degree tuition of $150 per semester unit up to a maximum of $2,250 per semester to any student who has earned a degree equivalent to or higher than the degree awarded by the program in which the student is enrolled or who has earned a baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate degree and is enrolled without a declared degree objective.

The following categories are exempted from duplicate degree tuition: (1) dislocated workers as certified by a state agency in accordance with Title 3 of the Federal Job Training Partnership Act; (2) displaced homemakers as defined in accordance with the Higher Education Act of 1965, as amended (20 USC 1001 et seq.); (3) persons who have earned an education credential or certificate program who are enrollees in programs leading to a nonadministrative credential or certificate that has been approved by the Commission on Teacher Education; (4) recipients of benefits under the Aid to Families with Dependent Children Program, the Supplementary Security Income or State Supplementary Program, or a general assistance program; (5) non-resident students except those for whom non-resident tuition has been waived; (6) California residents who are sixty years of age or older; (7) children and dependents of deceased or disabled veterans; (8) children of deceased law enforcement or fire suppression prevention employees. If a student believes that s/he qualifies for one of the exemptions, submit an Affidavit of Exemption for Duplicate Degree. Forms are available at the Registrar's Counter, ADM 253.

Debts Owed to the Institution

Should a student or former student fail to pay a debt owed to the institution, the institution may withhold permission "to register; to use facilities for which a fee is authorized to be charged; to receive services, materials, food or merchandise; or any combination of the above from any person owing a debt" until the debt is paid (see Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Sections 42380 and 42381). For example, the institution may withhold permission to receive official transcripts of grades from any person owing a debt. If a student believes that s/he does not owe all or part of an unpaid obligation, the student should contact the campus Cashier's Office. The Cashier's Office, or another office on campus to which the student may be referred by the Cashier's Office, will review the pertinent information, including information the student may wish to present, and will advise the student of its conclusions with respect to the debt.

Students will be responsible for any legal costs incurred in collecting any unpaid tuition/fees and other miscellaneous university fees. Any amount owed may be reported to the Franchise Tax Board for offset against tax refunds and/or from any state lottery winnings.

Over Sixty Program

San Francisco State University participates in the California State University Over Sixty Program. This program makes it possible for persons 60 years of age or older to earn a baccalaureate or master's degree at the university without payment of admission and registration fees.

To be eligible an individual must (1) be at least 60 years of age, (2) have been a California resident for a full year immediately preceding enrollment, and (3) meet the standard requirements for admission to the university. Those admitted pay only a $3.00 fee for each semester attended.

An application to the university and additional information are available from the university Admissions Office.


Bulletin 1994-96 Table of Contents, SFSU Home Page

last modified August 9, 1995


SFSU Home   Search   Need Help?  

1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 (415) 338-1111

Last modified July 13, 2012 by bulletin@sfsu.edu