Pride at SF State

Image: pictures of students from events sponsored by Pride at SF State held on campus, the rainbow flag and gender symbols

Safe Zone

If you are interested in learning more about the Safe Zone program and/or getting involved, please email pride@sfsu.edu.

 

 


 

Safe Zone Mission

In the spirit of San Francisco State University’s commitment to social justice and equity, the mission of the Safe Zone is to foster a safe campus environment through building a support network for people of all gender and sexual identities.

The Safe Zone is a voluntary program of trained faculty, staff, and administrators. A person displaying the program symbol has completed a training to develop a greater awareness of issues affecting students of all genders and sexual identities and anyone negatively impacted by heterosexism and homophobia. Those who are trained have agreed to be active, visible, and supportive allies. Any individual seeking help can talk to a Safe Zone person in a safe, confidential, and supportive environment.

Back to top

 


 

Safe Zone Goals

  • To foster a campus environment that is inclusive, respectful, and supports retention and the academic and professional success of all students.
  • To increase visibility of faculty, staff, and administrators who wish to act as active allies to students of all gender and sexual identities.
  • To increase the opportunities for faculty, staff, and administrators to support a safe and non-discriminatory campus and community environment.
  • To educate members of the University community on the needs and concerns of students of all gender and sexual identities.
  • To provide support, information, and resources to students struggling with issues of prejudice, stigma, homophobia, transphobia, and other discriminatory behaviors based on one’s gender and/or sexual identity.
  • To advance the University’s commitment to social justice and equity and honoring student diversity.

Back to top

 


 

Safe Zone Allies

Name Department Email Phone
(415)
Office
Kim Altura Undergraduate Education and Academic Planning kwidic@sfsu.edu 338-1999 ADM 447A
Mary Ann
Begley
Interim Dean of Students begley@sfsu.edu 338-2032 SSB 403
Mark
Angstman
Administration angstman@sfsu.edu 338-2246 ADM 361
Avi
Ben-Zeev
Psychology abenzeev@sfsu.edu 338-2167 EP 327
Elizabeth Boner Liberal & Creative Arts College eboner@sfsu.edu
Scott Boswell Cinema sboswell@sfsu.edu 338-6522 FA 422
Carol Brewer Student Health Services cbrewer@sfsu.edu 338-2237 Student Health Center
Andrew Brosnan Downtown Campus abrosnan@sfsu.edu/td> 817-4325 6th Floor, Room 641
Arlene Bugayong Enrollment Management arlenegb@sfsu.edu 338-1085 SSB 201
Gina Caprari Liberal and Creative Arts gcarpari@sfsu.edu 338-1541 HUM 484
Karla Castillo Mary Ward Hall, Housing Business Office karlac@sfsu.edu 405-4415
Nona Caspers Creative Writing ncaspers@sfsu.edu 338-1118 Hum 563
Jeff
Chun
Graduate Business Programs jeffchun@sfsu.edu 817-4322 Downtown Campus 552B
Edwin Critchlow Budget Admin & Operations ecritchl@sfsu.edu 338-1404 ADM 355
Kim
Davalos
Advising Center kdavalos@sfsu.edu
Osvaldo
Del Valle
Office of Student Conduct odelvall@sfsu.edu 338-2032 SSB 403
Laurene
Dominguez
The Safe Place ldomingz@sfsu.edu 338-2208 SSB 208
Johana
Duarte
Residential Life jduarte@sfsu.edu 405-9382 Towers Residential Hall, 1st Floor lobby
Nixora M.
Ferman
Undergraduate Advising Center nixora@sfsu.edu 338-0938 ADM 211
Ryan
Fetzer
Dean of Students Office rfetzer@sfsu.edu 405-0485 SSB 206
Kay
Gamo, MD
Student Health Services kgamo@sfsu.edu 405-2757 Student Health Center
Lorenzo
Garcia
Educational Opportunity Program lfg@sfsu.edu 338-2308 SSB 204
Oscar
Gardea
Educational Opportunity Program omgardea@sfsu.edu 405-3715 SSB 201
Jared Giarrusso Government Relations jaredg@sfsu.edu 405-3821 ADM 154G
Cyrus
Ginwala
School of Music and Dance cginwala@sfsu.edu 405-0486 CA 163
Tobi
Harper
harper@sfsu.edu 338-1229 Library 261
Shimina
Harris
Residential life siharris@sfsu.edu 405-4458
Lorna Hill Undergraduate Admissions lmchill@sfsu.edu 338-7209 SSB 305
Mitch Hymowitz QTRC mhymowit@mail.sfsu.edu
Chanda Jensen Dean of Students Office cjensen@sfsu.edu 405-4328 SSB 206
Christopher Kingston Office of International Programs cak@sfsu.edu 405-3931 Village 138
Katherine Kwid Creative Writing kkwid@sfsu.edu 338-1891 Hum 380
Ron Lam University Police sgtlam@sfsu.edu
Mario Laplante Art laplante@sfsu.edu 338-7081 Fine Arts, 258
Jonathan Lee Asian American Studies jlee@sfsu.edu 338-2279 EP 124
Wanda
Lee
Department of Counseling walee@sfsu.edu   BH 537
Tara
Lockhart
English Language & Literature taralock@sfsu.edu 338-1711 Hum 466
Richard
Mann
Art rgmann@sfsu.edu 338-6506 FA 261
Doug Marania Student Health Services dmarania@sfsu.edu
Linda
Meier
Student Health Services lmeier@sfsu.edu 338-1619
Chris
Moffatt
Biology moffatt@sfsu.edu 338-1631 HSS 420
Christine
Morley
Student Health Services cmorley@sfsu.edu 405-3497 Student Health Center
Linda Jo Morton University Property Management ljmorton@sfsu.edu 405-4104 University Property Management
Rick
Nizzardini
Health Promotion & Wellness rnizzard@sfsu.edu 405-4415 Mary Ward Hall
Joy
O'Donnell
College of Extended Learning and International Affairs, Downtown Campus joyo@sfsu.edu
Alex Peterson Residential Life alexmp@sfsu.edu 405-9378 Towers Residential Hall, 1st floor
Melanie Ramirez Guardian Scholars Program mrcarpio@sfsu.edu 405-0546 SSB 201
Donovan Ramos Advising Center dramos@sfsu.edu
Jim Raney Seven Hills Conference Center jraney@sfsu.edu Seven Hills Conference Center
Dina
Redman
Social Work/Student Success Program dinar@sfsu.edu 405-2458 HSS 218/HSS 254
Janet Remolona College of Business jlremolo@sfsu.edu 338-2670 BUS 321
Michael Ritter Health Promotion & Wellness mritter@sfsu.edu 338-6149 SSB 205
David
Rourke
University Property Management drourke@sfsu.edu 338-1822 Towers at Centennial Square 104B (ground level)
Camille
Santana
Advising Center csantana@sfsu.edu
Nora Scully nscully@sfsu.edu 405-5539 Library 241
Susan Shimanoff Liberal and Creative Arts shimanof@sfsu.edu 338-1541 HUM 484
Laura Shroder College of Business lshroder@sfsu.edu 405-4249
Scott Siegel nternational Relations snsiegel@sfsu.edu
Alastair Smith Student Health Services aksmith@sfsu.edu 338-1759
David Smith dgsmith@sfsu.edu 338-2161 HUM 367
Emily Smith Paul Longmore Institute on Disability beitiks@sfsu.edu 405-3528 HUM 135
Lavette Spencer Disability Programs and Resource Center lavetteb@sfsu.edu SSB 110
Renee Stephens Enrollment Management arana@sfsu.edu 338-2897 SSB 201
Caitlin
Steele
Facilities cdsteele@sfsu.edu 405-3868
Christopher
Stoehr, MD
Student Health Services cstoehr@sfsu.edu 405-4192 Student Health Center
Brian
Stuart
Assistant Dean of Students bstuart@sfsu.edu 338-2032 SSB 403
Christopher
Sugarman
Registrar's Office csugar@sfsu.edu 338-2784 One Stop Student Services Building (SSB)
Susana Tat Office of Research and Sponsored Programs stat@sfsu.edu 405-7554 HSS 359
Sylvia Vargas Student Success Program sbvargas@mail.sfsu.edu 405-7447 HSS 222
Cristal
Wallin
Student Affairs/Enrollment Management cwallin@sfsu.edu 405-2226 SSB 403
Mary
Walsh
Disability Programs and Resource Center mjwalsh@sfsu.edu 338-7178 SSB 105
Laura Wayth Theater Arts Department lwayth@sfsu.edu
Jackie Whang Student Health Services jwhang@sfsu.edu 405-0539 Student Health Center
Aimee
Williams
Health Promotion & Wellness aimeew@sfsu.edu 338-3039 Student Health Center room 71
Melinda Zarrett International Relations melindaz@sfsu.edu 338-2654 HSS 336

Back to top

 


 

Safe Zone Committee Members

Name Department Email Phone
(415)
Office
Kim Altura Undergraduate Education and Academic Planning kwidic@sfsu.edu 338-1999 ADM 447A
Rick Nizzardini Health Promotion & Wellness rnizzard@sfsu.edu 405-4415 Mary Ward Hall
Brian Stuart Assistant Dean of Students bstuart@sfsu.edu 338-2820 SSB 403
Aimee
Williams
Health Promotion & Wellness aimeew@sfsu.edu 338-3039 Student Health Center room 71
Melinda Zarrett International Relations melindaz@sfsu.edu 338-2654 HSS 336

Back to top

SF State Home