Pride at SF State

Image: pictures of students from events sponsored by Pride at SF State held on campus, the rainbow flag and gender symbols

Safe Zone

If you are interested in learning more about the Safe Zone program and/or getting involved, please email pride@sfsu.edu.

 

 


 

Safe Zone Mission

In the spirit of San Francisco State University’s commitment to social justice and equity, the mission of the Safe Zone is to foster a safe campus environment through building a support network for people of all gender and sexual identities.

The Safe Zone is a voluntary program of trained faculty, staff, and administrators. A person displaying the program symbol has completed a training to develop a greater awareness of issues affecting students of all genders and sexual identities and anyone negatively impacted by heterosexism and homophobia. Those who are trained have agreed to be active, visible, and supportive allies. Any individual seeking help can talk to a Safe Zone person in a safe, confidential, and supportive environment.

Back to top

 


 

Safe Zone Goals

  • To foster a campus environment that is inclusive, respectful, and supports retention and the academic and professional success of all students.
  • To increase visibility of faculty, staff, and administrators who wish to act as active allies to students of all gender and sexual identities.
  • To increase the opportunities for faculty, staff, and administrators to support a safe and non-discriminatory campus and community environment.
  • To educate members of the University community on the needs and concerns of students of all gender and sexual identities.
  • To provide support, information, and resources to students struggling with issues of prejudice, stigma, homophobia, transphobia, and other discriminatory behaviors based on one’s gender and/or sexual identity.
  • To advance the University’s commitment to social justice and equity and honoring student diversity.

Back to top

 


 

Safe Zone Allies

Name Department Email Phone
(415)
Office
Mary Ann
Begley
Interim Dean of Students begley@sfsu.edu 338-2032 SSB 403
Jim
Bolinger
University Property Management bolinger@sfsu.edu 405-4417 Towers at Centennial Square G103 (ground level)
Jeff
Chun
Graduate Business Programs jeffchun@sfsu.edu 817-4322 Downtown Campus 552B
Osvaldo
Del Valle
Office of Student Conduct odelvall@sfsu.edu 338-2032 SSB 403
Jenna
French
Disability Programs & Resource Center jfrench@sfsu.edu 338-7878 SSB 110
Nixora M.
Ferman
Undergraduate Advising Center nixora@sfsu.edu 338-0938 ADM 211
Kay
Gamo, MD
Student Health Services kgamo@sfsu.edu 405-2757 Student Health Center
Lorenzo
Garcia
Educational Opportunity Program lfg@sfsu.edu 338-2308 SSB 204
Oscar
Gardea
Educational Opportunity Program omgardea@sfsu.edu 405-3715 SSB 201
Cyrus
Ginwala
School of Music and Dance cginwala@sfsu.edu 405-0486 CA 163
Shimina
Harris
Residential life siharris@sfsu.edu 405-4458  
Todd
Higgins
Disability Programs & Resource Center toddh@sfsu.edu   SSB 110
Wanda
Lee
Department of Counseling walee@sfsu.edu   BH 537
Christine
Morley
Student Health Services cmorley@sfsu.edu 405-3497 Student Health Center
Rick
Nizzardini
Counseling & Psychological Services and Residential Life rnizzard@sfsu.edu 405-4415 Mary Ward Hall
Dina
Redman
Social Work/Student Success Program dinar@sfsu.edu 405-2458 HSS 218/HSS 254
David
Rourke
University Property Management drourke@sfsu.edu 338-1822 Towers at Centennial Square 104B (ground level)
Christopher
Stoehr, MD
Student Health Services cstoehr@sfsu.edu 405-4192 Student Health Center
Brian
Stuart
Assistant Dean of Students bstuart@sfsu.edu 338-2032 SSB 403
Christopher
Sugarman
Registrar's Office csugar@sfsu.edu 338-2784 One Stop Student Services Building (SSB)
Cristal
Wallin
Student Affairs/Enrollment Management cwallin@sfsu.edu 405-2226 SSB 403
Mary
Walsh
Disability Programs and Resource Center mjwalsh@sfsu.edu 338-7178 SSB 105
Aimee
Williams
Student Health Services aimeew@sfsu.edu 338-3039 Student Health Center room 71
Melinda Zarrett International Relations melindaz@sfsu.edu 338-2654 HSS 336

Back to top

 


 

Safe Zone Committee Members

Name Department Email Phone Office
Rick Nizzardini Counseling & Psychological Services and Residential Life rnizzard@sfsu.edu 415/405-4415 Mary Ward Hall
Brian Stuart Assistant Dean of Students bstuart@sfsu.edu 415/338-2820 SSB 403
Aimee
Williams
Student Health Services aimeew@sfsu.edu 415/338-3039 Student Health Center room 71
Melinda Zarrett International Relations melindaz@sfsu.edu 415/338-2654 HSS 336

Back to top

SF State Home