Pride at SF State

Image: pictures of students from events sponsored by Pride at SF State held on campus, the rainbow flag and gender symbols

Safe Zone

If you are interested in learning more about the Safe Zone program and/or getting involved, please email pride@sfsu.edu.

 

 


 

Safe Zone Mission

In the spirit of San Francisco State University’s commitment to social justice and equity, the mission of the Safe Zone is to foster a safe campus environment through building a support network for people of all gender and sexual identities.

The Safe Zone is a voluntary program of trained faculty, staff, and administrators. A person displaying the program symbol has completed a training to develop a greater awareness of issues affecting students of all genders and sexual identities and anyone negatively impacted by heterosexism and homophobia. Those who are trained have agreed to be active, visible, and supportive allies. Any individual seeking help can talk to a Safe Zone person in a safe, confidential, and supportive environment.

Back to top

 


 

Safe Zone Goals

  • To foster a campus environment that is inclusive, respectful, and supports retention and the academic and professional success of all students.
  • To increase visibility of faculty, staff, and administrators who wish to act as active allies to students of all gender and sexual identities.
  • To increase the opportunities for faculty, staff, and administrators to support a safe and non-discriminatory campus and community environment.
  • To educate members of the University community on the needs and concerns of students of all gender and sexual identities.
  • To provide support, information, and resources to students struggling with issues of prejudice, stigma, homophobia, transphobia, and other discriminatory behaviors based on one’s gender and/or sexual identity.
  • To advance the University’s commitment to social justice and equity and honoring student diversity.

Back to top

 


 

Safe Zone Allies

Name Department Email Phone
(415)
Office
Students 323
Mark Angstman Administration angstman@sfsu.edu 338-2246 ADM 361
Michael Beatty Administration and Finace mbeatty@sfsu.edu 338-1124 ADM 260
Donovan Ramos Advising Center dramos@sfsu.edu Undergraduate Education and Academic Planning
Dawn-Elissa Fischer Africana Studies def@sfsu.edu 338-1726 EP 410
Ryan Jones Alumni Relations rjjones@sfsu.edu 405-3639 ADM 153
Cordelia Millerwhite Art cordi@sfsu.edu LCA
Mario Laplante Art laplante@sfsu.edu 338-7081 FA 258
Richard Mann Art rgmann@sfsu.edu 338-6506 LCA
Ilana CrispiArt iscispi@sfsu.edu LCA
Jonathan LeeAsian American Studies jlee@sfsu.edu 338-2279EP 124
Brian StuartAssistant Dean of Students bstuart@sfsu.edu 338-2032AVP and Dean of
Mario Flores Associated Students marioflores@sfsu.edu 338-2657 Student Center T-139
Apryl Guisasola Athletics apryl@sfsu.edu 338-2485
Chris ClemensBECA cclemens@sfsu.edu 405-0922HUM 257
Darleen FranklinBiology darleen@sfsu.edu 338-2288College of Science and Engineering
Kimmie Richardson-Kubitsky-TsuiBiology kimmiet@sfsu.edu 338-2288HH 632
Chris MoffattBiology moffatt@sfsu.edu 338-1631College of Science and Engineering
Joseph ChenBiology chenj@sfsu.edu 405-3719HH 623
Audrey Parangan-SmithBiology - SF Build audreygp@sfsu.edu 338-2742HH 503
Michelle FrenchBroadcast and Electronic Communication Arts michel@sfsu.edu CA 133
Edwin CritchlowBudget Admin and Operations ecritchl@sfsu.edu 338-1404ADM 355
Ryan FetzerCampus Recreation rfetzer@sfsu.edu 405-0485AVP & Dean of Students
Chanda JensenCampus Recreation cjensen@sfsu.edu 338-2171SSB 105
Kristen McGrawChemistry kristen@mail.sfsu.edu SCI 200
Scott BoswellCinema sboswell@sfsu.edu 338-6522FA 422
Alexandra PappasClassics apappas@sfsu.edu 338-1220HUM 529
Janet RemolonaCollege of Business jlremolo@sfsu.edu 338-2670BUS 321
Laura ShroderCollege of Business lshroder@sfsu.edu 405-4149BUS 121
Lorenzo GarciaCollege of Business lfg@sfsu.edu Graduate College of Education
Joy ThompsonCollege of Extended Learning joyla@sfsu.edu 817-4237College of Extended Learning
Joy O'DonnellCollege of Extended Learning and International Affairs joyo@sfsu.edu 817-4229College of Extended Learning
Susan CuongCollege of Health and Social Sciences scuong@sfsu.edu 405-3687HSS 239
Michelle CahillCollege of Health and Social Sciences srcint1@sfsu.edu 405-3740HSS 254
David SmithCollege of Liberal and Creative Arts dgsmitd@sfsu.edu 338-2161HUM 367
Audrey ChuckCollege of Liberal and Creative Arts afchuck@sfsu.edu 338-7310HUM 224
Jennifer DalyCollege of Liberal and Creative Arts jndaly@sfsu.edu 338-7397CA 256
Nona CaspersCreative Writing ncaspers@sfsu.edu 338-1118HUM 563
Katherine KwidCreative Writing kkwid@sfsu.edu 338-1891HUM 380
Christina SabeeDean of Equity Initiatives csabee@sfsu.edu 338-2032SSB 403
Robert RamirezDean's Office-Science and Engineering rramirez@sfsu.edu 338-1571TH
Wanda Lee Department of Counseling walee@sfsu.edu 338-1707 HSS
Alex SanchezDevelopment Office alexsan@sfsu.edu 338-1032ADM 153
Lavette SpencerDisability Programs and Resource Center lavetteb@sfsu.edu 338-3452SSB 110
Wendy TobiasDisability Programs and Resource Center wendytob@sfsu.edu 405-4250SSB 110
Alan FiskDisability Programs and Resource Center afisk@sfsu.edu 405-4137SSB 110
Alexis LarsonDisability Programs and Resource Center alexisl@sfsu.edu 338-3905SSB 110
Andrew BrosnanDowntown Campus abrosnan@sfsu.edu 338-7156ADM 227
Kristine OkimuraEarth & Climate Sciences kokimura@sfsu.edu TH 515
Oscar GardeaEducational Opportunity Program omgardea@sfsu.edu 405-3715SSB 201
Jonathan Song Electrical Engineering jjs5151@yahoo.com
Jennifer BeachEnglish Language and Literature beach@sfsu.edu 405-2521HUM 584
Jim GilliganEnglish Language and Literature jimrgill@sfsu.edu 405-2454HUM 235
Ron RichardsonEnglish Language and Literature ronosaur@mail.sfsu.edu 338-3101HUM 417
Robert KohlsEnglish Language and Literature rkohls@sfsu.edu 338-7404LCA
Tara LockhartEnglish Language and Literature taralock@sfsu.edu 338-1711HUM 466
David GillEnglish Language and Literature dcgill@sfsu.edu 338-1296HUM 229
Emma RemickEnglish Language and Literature emma@sfsu.edu 338-3088HUM 234
Jace AllenEnglish Language and Literature jcallen@sfsu.edu 338-2266HUM 492
John HollandEnglish Language and Literature holland@sfsu.edu 338-3143HUM 222
Arlene BugayongEnrollment Management arlenegb@sfsu.edu 338-1085SSB 201
Renee StephensEnrollment Management arana@sfsu.edu 338-2897SSB 201-H
Adrian Garza Enrollment Management adriangarza@sfsu.edu SSB 110
Sara LewisEquity Programs and Compliance saral@sfsu.edu 338-6053SSB 402
Caitlin SteeleFacilities cdsteele@sfsu.edu 405-3868Physical Planning and Development
Russell Kilday-HicksFacilities Services rkilhick@sfsu.edu 338-3008Corp 202
Theresa KaneGeography and Environment theresak@sfsu.edu 338-2049College of Science and Engineering
Nancy WilkinsonGeography and Environment nancyw@sfsu.edu 338-1439HSS 277
Jeff ChunGraduate Business Programs jeffchun@sfsu.edu 338-7097BUS 326
Darine VillanuevaGuardian Scholars Program gsp@sfsu.edu SSB 201
Melanie RamirezGuardian Scholars Program mrcarpio@sfsu.edu 405-0546Guardian Scholars Program
Ruby TuralbaHealth Education turalba@sfsu.edu HSS
Rick Nizzardini Health Promotion & Wellness rnizzard@sfsu.edu 338-7791SC M-113C
Emily Hops Health Promotion & Wellness ehops@sfsu.edu 338-7233 Student Center M-113C
Aimee Williams Health Promotion & Wellness aimeew@sfsu.edu 338-3039 Student Center M-113C
Timothy ShawHospitality and Tourism Management cheftim@sfsu.edu 338-3410BH 401
Stacey ZupanHumanities Department zupan@sfsu.edu 338-3127HUM 336
Katie MurphyInternational Relations murph@sfsu.edu 338-2654HUM 282
Scott SiegelInternational Relations snsiegel@sfsu.edu 416-8444HUM 331
Paloma Mathern Liberal & Creative Arts amolap@sfsu.edu 338-7310HUM 224
Elizabeth BonerLiberal and Creative Arts College eboner@sfsu.edu HSS
Gina CaprariLiberal and Creative Arts College gcaprari@sfsu.edu 405-3734FA 301
Susan ShimanoffLiberal and Creative Arts College shimanof@sfsu.edu 338-1471CA 251
Chris MaysLibrary chrism@sfsu.edu 338-3874LIB 320B
Karla CastilloMary Ward Hall Housing Business Office karlac@sfsu.edu 338-2208SSB 208
Eric HsuMathematics erichsu@sfsu.edu 405-4092SCI 211
Maritza PulidoMetro College Success Program mpulido@sfsu.edu 338-3034
Ana Luengo PalominoModern Languages and Literature aluengo@sfsu.edu 338-1421LCA
Bryan PangilinanOffice of Corporate and Foundation Relations bryanp@sfsu.edu 405-3833ADM 153
Christopher KingstonOffice of International Programs cak@sfsu.edu 338-7081DTC 600
Shimina Harris Office of Student Conduct siharris@sfsu.edu 338-2032 SSB 403
Emily SmithPaul Longmore Institute on Disability beitiks@sfsu.edu 405-3528HUM 135
Jeff CookstonPsychology cookston@sfsu.edu 405-2133EP 301
Melissa HaganPsychology mjhagan@sfsu.edu 405-3555EP 239
Avi Ben-ZeevPsychology abenzeev@sfsu.edu 405-2107EP 327
Nina RobertsRecreation, Parks & Tourism nroberts@sfsu.edu 338-7576HSS 308
Christopher SugarmanRegistrar's Office csugar@sfsu.edu 338-2784SSB 303
Taryn WongResearch & Sponsored Programs tarynjw@sfsu.edu HSS 222
J.C. GonzalezResearch & Sponsored Programs jcatsfsu@sfsu.edu 405-2157HSS 222
David RourkeResidential Life, Director drourke@sfsu.edu 338-1822TCS G104B
Johana DuarteResidential Life jduart@sfsu.edu 405-8078TCS
Jayme Brunner Residential Life jaybru@sfsu.edu 405-9378
Jorge Sierra Residential Life jsier@sfsu.edu 336-5370
Jennifer Viale Romberg-Tiburon Center jviale@sfsu.edu 338-6063 Tiburon Center Ancillary Support
Cyrus Ginwala School of Music and Dance cginwala@sfsu.edu 405-4109 CA 138
Christine Scudder School of Social Work cscudder@sfsu.edu 405-0942 HSS 217
Melinda Zarrett Student Affairs melindaz@sfsu.edu 405-3799 SSB 402
Gene ChelbergStudent Affairs - AVP chelberg@sfsu.edu 338-2916SSB 403
Luoluo HongStudent Affaris/Enrollment Management VP luoluo@sfsu.edu VP-SAEM
Carol BrewerStudent Health Services cbrewer@sfsu.edu 338-2237Student Health Center
Kay Gamo Student Health Services kgamo@sfsu.edu 405-2757 Student Health Center
Linda Meier Student Health Services lmeier@sfsu.edu 338-1619 Student Health Center
Jackie Whang Student Health Services jwhang@sfsu.edu 405-0539 Student Health Center
Allyson Pablo Student Health Services apablo@sfsu.edu Student Health Center
Mia Gutfreund Student Health Services miagut@sfsu.edu Student Health Center
Cristal Wallin Students Affairs/ Enrollment Management cwallin@sfsu.edu 405-2226 SSB 403
Laurene Dominguez The Safe Place ldomingz@sfsu.edu 338-2208 Student Health Center
Laura Wayth Theater Arts Department lwayth@sfsu.edu LCA
Denise Miyajima Undergraduate Admissions dmiya@sfsu.edu 338-6958 SSB 305
PaHoua Lee Undergraduate Advising Center pahoualee@sfsu.edu 338-2101 ADM 211 & HSS 254
Maggie Hilliard Undergraduate Advising Center mhilliard@sfsu.edu 405-2453 ADM 211 & HUM 104
Whitney Vallabhaneni Undergraduate Advising Center wvalla@sfsu.edu 338-1006 ADM 211
Jasmin Bomanjee Undergraduate Advising Center jsboman@sfsu.edu 338-2949 ADM 211
Rosalind On Undergraduate Advising Center ros_on@sfsu.edu 338-7021 ADM 211
Mai Choua Xiong Undergraduate Advising Center mcxiong@sfsu.edu 338-1018 ADM 211
Vanessa Rodriguez Undergraduate Advising Center vrod@sfsu.edu 338-6162 ADM 211
Kate Messinger Undergraduate Advising Center kmessing@sfsu.edu 405-4134 ADM 211
Kim Altura Undergraduate Education and Academic Planning kwidic@sfsu.edu 338-1999 ADM 447A
Glendie Domingo-Lipar Undergraduate Education gdlipar@sfsu.edu 405-7557 HSS 206
Linda Jo Morton University Property Management ljmorton@sfsu.edu 338-7483
Jim Raney University Property Management jraney@sfsu.edu 405-2220 SVN
Kim Altura Undergraduate Education and Academic Planning kwidic@sfsu.edu 338-1999 ADM 447A
Linda Jo Morton University Property Management ljmorton@sfsu.edu 338-7483
Jayme Brunner University Property Management jaybru@sfsu.edu 405-9378
Jim Raney University Property Management jraney@sfsu.edu 405-2220 SVN
Jorge Sierra University Property Management jsier@sfsu.edu 336-5370

Back to top


Safe Zone Committee Members

Name Department Email Phone
(415)
Office
Rick Nizzardini Counseling & Psych Services and Residential Life rnizzard@sfsu.edu 405-4415 Mary Ward Hall
Sara Lewis Equity Programs and Compliance saral@sfsu.edu 338-6053 SSB 402
Glendie Domingo-Lipar Undergraduate Education gdlipar@sfsu.edu 405-7557 HSS 206
Kristen McGraw Chemistry kristen@mail.sfsu.edu SCI 200
Emily Hops Health Promotion & Wellness ehops@sfsu.edu 338-7233 Student Center M-113C
Melinda Zarrett Student Affairs melindaz@sfsu.edu 338-2654 SSB 402

Back to top

SF State Home