San Francisco State UniversityWeb A-ZFind it Fast


CSU names 15 SFSU students pre-doctoral scholars


News & Events

More Campus Headlines

News Archive

Contact Public Affairs

July 22, 2002

The California State University System has named 15 SFSU students as Sally Casanova Pre-Doctoral Scholars, the most of any campus in the CSU. The California Pre-Doctoral Program is designed to increase the pool of potential CSU faculty by supporting the doctoral aspirations of CSU students who have experienced economic and educational disadvantages.

Recipients of the one-time award will receive faculty guidance, summer internships, and funding support. Students are selected by a committee of faculty from the California State University and the University of California.

Each scholar works closely with a CSU faculty sponsor to develop an overall plan leading to enrollment in a doctoral program. Each plan is tailored to the individual career and educational goals of the student. The program places a special emphasis on increasing the number of CSU students who enter doctoral programs at a University of California campus.

The SFSU students who won awards are:

  • Andrew Borland (literature and creative writing)
  • Neal Carnes (sociology, education, public health)
  • Cristina Flores (gerontology--long term care administration)
  • Palma Formica (biology/marine biology)
  • Matthew Horrigan (earth science)
  • Jordy Jones (art history)
  • Matthew Keirle (systematics/mycology)
  • Manli Li (computer science)
  • Nzinga Moore (communication)
  • Ian Muhlhauser (philosophy)
  • Joseph Mullin (history)
  • Saira Qureshi (communication)
  • Donald Schreiber (political science)
  • Kris Scott Marti (anthropology)
  • Kelly Stanley (classics)

San Francisco State University Home     Search     Need Help?    

1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132    (415) 338-1111
Last modified July 22, 2002, by the Office of Public Affairs