FEES AND OTHER EXPENSES


Legal residents of California are not charged tuition. The following reflects applicable systemwide and local fees and nonresident tuition for the semester system.

Cash, personal or certified check, and Master Card and VISA bank credit cards may be used for payment of student fees.

Systemwide mandatory fees are waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provisions of the Alan Pattee Scholarship Act, Education Code, Section 68120. Systemwide mandatory fees are waived for those individuals who qualify for such exemption under the provision of Education Code, Section 32320 (Children of deceased disabled veterans).

INSTALLMENT PLANS

All students who are eligible to enroll may use one of the installment plans offered by the university, with the exceptions of students with financial aid deferments, approved waivers or subsidies, or students who defaulted on their installment plan agreement in a previous semester. Students with outstanding financial obligations must pay their obligations before or at the time of their enrolling in the current semester's installment plan. More information and a copy of the installment plan contract are included in each semester's Class Schedule.

SCHEDULE OF FEES, 2001-2002

Fees are subject to change without notice. All students must pay the following regular registration fees. Fee increase update as of 12/20/02, see New Registration Fees, Spring 2003.

Undergraduate

Regular Session (Per Semester-Credit or Audit) 0.1 to 6.0 units 6.1 or more units
State University Fee $414.00 $714.00
Local Fees:
Student Center Fee 52.00 52.00
Student Body Association Fee 42.00 42.00
Student Health Service Fee 65.00 65.00
Health Facilities Fee 3.00 3.00
Identification Card Fee 2.00 2.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee 35.00 35.00
Total per semester $613.00 $913.00

Summer Session (Credit or Audit)

State University Fee $414.00 $714.00
Local Fees:
Student Center Fee 7.00 7.00
Student Body Association Fee 4.00 4.00
Student Health Service Fee 16.00 16.00
Health Facilities Fee 3.00 3.00
Identification Card Fee 2.00 2.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee 5.00 5.00
Total per semester $450.00 $750.00

Graduate

Regular Session (Per Semester-Credit or Audit) 0.1 to 6.0 units 6.1 or more units
State University Fee $438.00 $753.00
Local Fees:
Student Center Fee 52.00 52.00
Student Body Association Fee 42.00 42.00
Student Health Service Fee 65.00 65.00
Health Facilities Fee 3.00 3.00
Identification Card Fee 2.00 2.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee 35.00 35.00
Total per semester $637.00 $952.00

Summer Session (Credit or Audit)

State University Fee $438.00 $753.00
Local Fees:
Student Center Fee 7.00 7.00
Student Body Association Fee 4.00 4.00
Student Health Service Fee 16.00 16.00
Health Facilities Fee 2.00 2.00
Identification Card Fee 2.00 2.00
Instructionally Related Activities Fee 5.00 5.00
Total per semester $474.00 $789.00

Nonresident Tuition (U.S. and International)

In addition to the regular registration fees listed above, non-legal residents of the State of California must pay $2821 per unit (or fraction) for nonresident tuition. The total fee paid per term will be determined by the number of units taken, including those in excess of fifteen.

Open University (Concurrent Enrollment) and Special Sessions

Fee per semester unit (lecture-discussion course)

$160.00

Fee per unit (laboratory course)

$195.00

Miscellaneous University Fees

Miscellaneous Fees Maximum Fee Per Item
Application for admission or readmission payable by check or money order (non-refundable) $55.00
Late registration $25.00
Failure to meet administratively required appointment or time limit (late fee) $20.00
Check returned for any cause
[The university reserves the right to refuse to accept personal checks from persons who have previously written bad checks.]
$20.00
Replacement of items lost or broken, including laboratory equipment (minimum charge $1.00) cost
Transcript of record $4.00
Graduation fee $40.00
Binding thesis $25.00

Library Overdue and Lost Item Fees: Books and Other Library Materials

Fees are computed on a per transaction basis. Overdue fees are computed from the time the material was due until the time the material is returned or declared lost.

 

$ Per Transaction

Hourly or Overnight Loans for Items Placed on Reserve Status
(whether in the Reserve Book Room or other areas of the library)
  Per hour 1.00
  Maximum per transaction 25.00
Hourly or Overnight Loans for Other Items (items not on reserve status)
  Per hour 0.25
  Maximum per transaction 10.00
Loans of One to Six Days
  Per day 1.00
  Maximum per transaction 25.00
Loans of Seven or More Days
  Per day 0.25
  Maximum per transaction 25.00
Lost Book, Periodical, or Media Fees Replacement Cost + 
Processing Charge
Damage Fees From 50 cents to Replacement Cost + Processing Charge

NOTE: Replacement Cost is based on a predetermined average cost of an academic book. At present the Processing Charge is $20.00 per item.

Fees and Debts Owed to the Institution

Should a student or former student fail to pay a fee or a debt owed to the institution, the institution may "withhold permission to register; to use facilities for which a fee is authorized to be charged; to receive services, materials, food, or merchandise; or any combination of the above from any person owing a debt" until the debt is paid (see Title 5, California Code of Regulations, Sections 42380 and 42381).

Prospective students who register for courses offered by the university are obligated for the payment of fees associated with registration for those courses. Failure to cancel registration in any course for an academic term prior to the first day of the academic term gives rise to an obligation to pay student fees including any tuition for the reservation of space in the course.

The institution may withhold permission to register or to receive official transcripts of grades or other services offered by the institution from anyone owing fees or another debt to the institution. If a person believes he or she does not owe all or part of an asserted unpaid obligation, that person may contact the Bursar's Office. The Bursar's Office, or another office on campus to which the Bursar's Office may refer the person, will review all pertinent information provided by the person and available to the campus and advise the person of its conclusions.

Students will be responsible for any legal costs incurred in collecting any unpaid tuition/fees and other miscellaneous university fees. Any amount owed may be reported to the Franchise Tax Board for offset against tax refunds and/or from any state lottery winnings.

Over Sixty Program

San Francisco State University participates in the California State University Over Sixty Program. This program makes it possible for persons 60 years of age or older to earn a baccalaureate or master's degree at the university without payment of admission and registration fees.

To be eligible an individual must (1) be at least 60 years of age, (2) have been a California resident for a full year immediately preceding enrollment, and (3) meet the standard requirements for admission to the university. Those admitted pay a $3.00 fee for each semester attended and may enroll on a space available basis only.

An application to the university and additional information are available from the university undergraduate and graduate Admissions Offices.

REFUND OF FEES INCLUDING NONRESIDENT TUITION

Details regarding which fees may be refunded, the circumstances under which fees may be refunded, and the appropriate procedure to follow in seeking refunds may be obtained by consulting Section 42201 (parking fees), 41913 (nonresident tuition), 42019 (housing charges), and 41802 (all other fees) of Title 5, California Code of Regulations. In all cases, it is important to act quickly in applying for a refund.

Regular Session Registration Fees

Regulations governing the refund of registration fees, including nonresident tuition, for students enrolling at the California State University are included in Section 41802 of Title 5, California Code of Regulations. For purposes of the refund policy, registration fees are defined as those systemwide fees and campus fees that are required to be paid in order to enroll in state-supported academic programs at the California State University. Refunds of fees and tuition charges for self-supported programs at the California State University (courses offered through extended education) are governed by a separate policy established by the university.

In order to receive a full refund of registration fees, including nonresident tuition, students must cancel registration or drop all courses prior to the first day of instruction for the term. Students are no longer required to request a refund. Any refund for which a student is eligible is "automatic" when the student follows campus-established procedures. Information on procedures and deadlines for canceling registration and dropping classes is printed in the Class Schedule.

For state-supported semesters, quarters, and non-standard terms or courses of four weeks or more, students who drop all courses prior to the end of the campus-designated drop period or who officially withdraw no later than the 60 percent point in the academic period are entitled to a pro-rata refund of registration fees, including nonresident tuition. The pro-rata refund is determined on the basis of the date of the student's withdrawal and the length of the semester. The length of the semester is calculated from the first day of instruction through the last day of final exams and excludes any breaks of five days or more. No student withdrawing after the 60 percent point in the term will be entitled to a refund of any registration fees or nonresident tuition.

Students who drop some but not all units resulting in a lower tuition and/or registration fee obligation within the campus designated drop period and in accordance with campus procedures is entitled to a refund of the applicable difference in tuition and/or fee levels.

For state-supported semesters, quarters, and non-standard terms or courses of less than four weeks, no refunds of registration fees and nonresident tuition will be made unless a student cancels registration or drops all classes prior to the first day in accordance with the university's established procedures and deadlines.

Students will also receive a refund of registration fees, including nonresident tuition under the following circumstances:

Students who are not entitled to a refund as described above may petition the university for a refund demonstrating exceptional circumstances and the chief financial officer of the university or designee may authorize a refund if he or she determines that the fees and tuition were not earned by the university.

Any refund due a student is applied first toward any required return of student financial aid funds from federal, state, institutional, or external sources, and then the balance is returned to the student.

Information concerning any aspect of the refund of fees may be obtained from the bursar.

Extended Learning

The full Extended Learning tuition fee will be refunded if the university discontinues a course.

If a student drops a course and applies to the Extended Learning Office for a refund, tuition fees will be refunded according to the following schedule:

  1. Drops after paying fees but before the day of the first class meeting: all fees.
  2. Drops on the day of the first class meeting: all fees minus $10 for each dropped course.
  3. Drops after the first class session:
    1. courses of five meetings or longer--65% of fees collected until 25% of the course time has elapsed, after which there will be no refund.
    2. courses of four meetings or less--no refund.

Students should consult with the Extended Learning Office for the specific refund schedule for Winter Session. Refund checks will be mailed to the address on the application approximately six weeks after the application is filed.


1At the Board of Trustees meeting in May, 2002, a 15% increase in the nonresident tuition for the CSU was approved. For Fall 2002, the nonresident tuition is $282 per unit.



SFSU Home   Search   Need Help?  

1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 (415) 338-1111

Last modified July 09, 2012 by bulletin@sfsu.edu