The university is a member of the San Francisco Consortium; other member institutions are California College of Podiatric Medicine, City College of San Francisco, Cogswell College of Engineering, Golden Gate University, Hastings College of the Law, The University of San Francisco, and the University of California, San Francisco.

Through the functions of the Consortium a variety of increased and enhanced educational opportunities may be made available to full-time students of the member institutions. In addition, numerous cooperative projects directed toward various aspects of urban development and special programs in higher education may involve faculty of two or more member institutions. San Francisco State University students who have special needs or interests which may be served through connections with one of the other Consortium institutions should contact the Registrar's Office, San Francisco State University, 1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132.


Any regularly enrolled, full-time, matriculated student of a San Francisco Consortium member institution may register for credit in courses offered by other member institutions on the consent of the faculty adviser and/or consent of the host institution instructor as space is available in the desired class. This policy applies only to the regular sessions of the academic year and specifically excludes summer session, winter session, extension, and similar programs. In addition,


The following conditions must be met before a student may register for credit at another member institution and have the credit accepted toward fulfilling graduation requirements.



Students enrolled at any CSU campus will have access to courses at other CSU campuses on a space available basis unless those campuses or programs are impacted. This access is offered without students being required to be admitted formally to the host campus and sometimes without paying additional fees. Although courses taken on any CSU campus will transfer to the student's home CSU campus as at least elective credit, students should consult their home campus academic advisers to determine how such courses may apply to their degree programs before enrolling at the host campus.

There are two programs for enrollment within the CSU and one for enrollment between CSU and the University of California or California community colleges. Applications and additional information about these programs are available from the Registrar's Office.


Developing intercultural communication skills and international understanding among its students is a vital mission of the California State University (CSU). Since its inception in 1963, the CSU International Programs has contributed to this effort by providing qualified students an affordable opportunity to continue their studies abroad for a full academic year. More than 12,000 CSU students have taken advantage of this unique study option.

International Programs participants earn resident academic credit at their CSU campuses while they pursue full-time study at a host university or special study center abroad. The International Programs serves the needs of students in over 100 designated academic majors. Affiliated with more than 70 recognized universities and institutions of higher education in 16 countries, the International Programs also offers a wide selection of study locales and learning environments.

Australia--The University of Western Sydney.

Canada--The universities of the Province of Quebec, including Université de Montréal, Concordia University, Université Laval, McGill University, Université du Quebec system, Bishop's University.

Chile--Pontipicia Universidad Católica de Chile (Santiago).

Denmark--Denmark's International Study Program (the international education affiliate of the University of Copenhagen).

France--Institut des Études Françaises pour Étudiants Étrangers; Université de Droit, d'Économie et des Sciences d'Aix-Marseille (Aix-en-Provence); Mission interuniversitaire de coordination des échanges franco-américains, Universités de Paris III, IV, V, VI, VII, VIII, IX, X, XI, XII, XIII, the Institute of Oriental Languages and Civilizations, and Evry.

Germany--Universität Tübingen and a number of institutions of higher education in the Federal State of Baden-Württemberg.

Israel--Tel Aviv University and The Hebrew University of Jerusalem.

Italy--CSU Study Center (Florence), Universitá degli Studi di Firenze, and La Accademia di Belle Arti Firenze.

Japan--Waseda University (Tokyo).

Korea--Yonsei University (Seoul).

Mexico--Instituto Tecnológico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey, Campus Querétaro.

New Zealand--Lincoln University (Christchurch) and Massey University (Palmerston North).

Spain--Universidad Complutense de Madrid and Universidad de Granada.

Sweden--Uppsala Universitet.

Taiwan--National Chengchi University (Taipei).

United Kingdom--Bradford University, Bristol University, Hull University, Kingston University, Sheffield University, and University of Wales (Swansea).

Zimbabwe--University of Zimbabwe (Harare).

International Programs pays all tuition and administrative costs for participating California resident students to the same extent that such funds would be expended to support similar costs in California. Participants are responsible for all personal costs, such as transportation, room and board, living expenses, and home campus fees. Participants remain eligible to receive any form of financial aid (except work study) for which they can individually qualify. For a student not living at home, the possibility exists that a year abroad, except for transportation and sightseeing, will not cost any more than living in the Bay Area. This is an excellent opportunity for a student to continue his/her studies and become familiar with another culture and its peoples.

To qualify for admission to the International Programs, students must have upper division or graduate standing at a CSU campus by the time of departure. Students at the sophomore level may, however, participate in the intensive language acquisition programs in France, Germany, and Mexico. California Community Colleges transfer students are eligible to apply directly from their community colleges. Students must also possess a current cumulative grade point average of 2.75 or 3.0, depending on the program for which they apply. Some programs also have language study and/or other course work prerequisites.

Additional information and application materials may be obtained on campus from the Office of International Programs, 338-1293, e-mail: studyabr@sfsu.edu, or by writing to the California State University International Programs, 401 Golden Shore, Sixth Floor, Long Beach, CA 90802-4210. Visit CSU International Programs on the Web at www.gateway.calstate.edu/csuienet/.


In addition to the opportunity to participate in the CSU International Programs, there is also the opportunity to study abroad through the 23 universities located in fourteen countries with whom SFSU has signed special agreements. These agreements call for an equal exchange of students going both ways--those students wishing to study at San Francisco State University from a participating university overseas and students from San Francisco State who wish to study abroad in the host university at which the other student is enrolled. Some of these programs are also college or department specific.

As with the CSU International Programs, the student pays fees at San Francisco State but takes classes at the host university. Again, if the student qualifies for financial aid, aside from work study, these awards can be used to fund the study abroad for one year or even one semester in certain instances.

Additional information and application materials may be obtained from the Office of International Programs, San Francisco State University, 1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132; (415) 338-1293; e-mail: studyabr@sfsu.edu.