The individual California State Colleges were brought together as a system by the Donahoe Higher Education Act of 1960. In 1972 the system became the California State University and Colleges and in 1982 the system became the California State University. Today the campuses of the CSU include comprehensive and polytechnic universities and, since July 1995, the California Maritime Academy, a specialized campus.

The oldest campus--San José State University--was founded in 1857 and became the first institution of public higher education in California. The most recently opened campus--California State University, Monterey Bay--began admitting students in the fall of 1995. The 23rd campus, CSU Channel Islands, will open in fall 2002 with freshmen arriving in fall 2003.

Responsibility for the California State University is vested in the Board of Trustees, whose members are appointed by the Governor. The Trustees appoint the Chancellor, who is the chief executive officer of the system, and the Presidents, who are the chief executive officers of the respective campuses.

The Trustees, the Chancellor, and the Presidents develop systemwide policy, with actual implementation at the campus level taking place through broadly based consultative procedures. The Academic Senate of the California State University, made up of elected representatives of the faculty from each campus, recommends academic policy to the Board of Trustees through the Chancellor.

Academic excellence has been achieved by the California State University through a distinguished faculty, whose primary responsibility is superior teaching. While each campus in the system has its own unique geographic and curricular character, all campuses, as multipurpose institutions, offer undergraduate and graduate instruction for professional and occupational goals as well as broad liberal education. All the campuses require for graduation a basic program of "General Education Requirements" regardless of the type of bachelor's degree or major field selected by the student.

The CSU offers more than 1,600 bachelors and masters degree programs in some 240 subject areas. Many of these programs are offered so that students can complete all upper division and graduate requirements by part-time, late afternoon, and evening study. In addition, a variety of teaching and school service credential programs are available. A number of doctoral degrees are offered jointly with the University of California and with private institutions in California.

Enrollments in Fall 2000 totaled 368,252 students, who were taught by over 21,225 faculty. The system awards more than half of the bachelor's degrees and 30 percent of the master's degrees granted in California. Some 1.94 million persons have been graduated from CSU campuses since 1960.



The Honorable Gray Davis
Governor of California
State Capitol
Sacramento 95814

The Honorable Cruz Bustamante
Lieutenant Governor of California
State Capitol
Sacramento 95814

The Honorable Robert Hertzberg
Speaker of the Assembly
State Capitol
Sacramento 95814

The Honorable Delaine Eastin
State Superintendent of Public Instruction
721 Capitol Mall
Sacramento 95814

Dr. Charles B. Reed
Chancellor of the California State University
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach 90802-4210


The Honorable Gray Davis

Laurence K. Gould, Jr.

Debra Farar
Vice Chair

Christine Helwick

Richard P. West


Appointments are for a term of eight years, except student, alumni, and faculty trustees whose terms are for two years. Terms expire in the year in parentheses. Names are listed in order of appointment to the Board.

Roberta Achtenberg (2007)
William D. Campbell (2003)
Daniel Cartwright (2002)
Martha C. Fallgatter (2003)
Debra S. Farar (2006)
Robert Foster (2006)
Murray L. Galinson (2007)
Harold Goldwhite (2003)
Laurence K. Gould, Jr. (2002)
William Hauck (2009)
Ricardo F. Icaza (2008)
Shailesh J. Mehta (2005)
Dee Dee Myers (2004)
Ralph R. Pesqueira (2004)
Frederick W. Pierce IV (2002)
Erene S. Thomas (2003)
Kyriakos Tsakopoulos (2009)
Anthony M. Vitti (2005)
Stanley T. Wang (2002)

Correspondence with Trustees should be sent:

c/o Trustees Secretariat
The California State University
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach, CA 90802-4210


California State University
401 Golden Shore
Long Beach, CA 90802-4210
(562) 951-4000

Dr. Charles B. Reed
Chancellor, CSU System

Dr. David S. Spence
Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Academic Officer

Dr. Gary Hammerstrom
Associate Vice Chancellor, Academic Affairs

Ms. Jackie McClain
Vice Chancellor, Human Resources

Mr. Richard P. West
Executive Vice Chancellor and Chief Business Officer

Mr. Louis Caldera
Vice Chancellor, University Advancement

Ms. Christine Helwick
General Counsel


California State University, Bakersfield
9001 Stockdale Highway
Bakersfield, CA 93311-1099
Dr. Tomás A. Arciniega, President
(661) 664-2011

California State University, Channel Islands
One University Drive
Camarillo, CA 93012
Dr. Richard Rush, President
(805) 437-8424

California State University, Chico
400 West First Street
Chico, CA 95929-0150
Dr. Manuel A. Esteban, President
(530) 898-6116

California State University, Dominguez Hills
1000 East Victoria Street
Carson, CA 90747-0005
Dr. James E. Lyons, Sr., President
(310) 243-3300

California State University, Fresno
5241 North Maple Avenue
Fresno, CA 93740
Dr. John D. Welty, President
(559) 278-4240

California State University, Fullerton
800 N. State College Boulevard
Fullerton, CA 92834-9480
Dr. Milton A. Gordon, President
(714) 278-2011

California State University, Hayward
25800 Carlos Bee Boulevard
Hayward, CA 94542
Dr. Norma Rees, President
(510) 885-3000

Humboldt State University
Arcata, CA 95521-8299
Dr. Alistair W. McCrone, President
(707) 826-3011

California State University, Long Beach
1250 Bellflower Boulevard
Long Beach, CA 90840-0115
Dr. Robert C. Maxson, President
(562) 985-4111

California State University, Los Angeles
5151 State University Drive
Los Angeles, CA 90032
Dr. James M. Rosser, President
(323) 343-3000

California Maritime Academy
200 Maritime Academy Drive
Vallejo, California 94590
Dr. William B. Eisenhardt, President
(707) 654-1000

California State University, Monterey Bay
100 Campus Center
Seaside, California 93955-8001
Dr. Peter P. Smith, President
(831) 582-3330

California State University, Northridge
18111 Nordhoff Street
Northridge, CA 91330
Dr. Jolene Koester, President
(818) 677-1200

California State Polytechnic University, Pomona
3801 West Temple Avenue
Pomona, CA 91768
Dr. Bob Suzuki, President
(909) 869-7659

California State University, Sacramento
6000 J Street
Sacramento, CA 95819
Dr. Donald R. Gerth, President
(916) 278-6011

California State University, San Bernardino
5500 University Parkway
San Bernardino, CA 92407-2397
Dr. Albert K. Karnig, President
(909) 880-5000

San Diego State University
5500 Campanile Drive
San Diego, CA 92182
Dr. Stephen L. Weber, President
(619) 594-5200

San Francisco State University
1600 Holloway Avenue
San Francisco, CA 94132
Dr. Robert A. Corrigan, President
(415) 338-1111

San José State University
One Washington Square
San Jose, CA 95192-0001
Dr. Robert L. Caret, President
(408) 924-1000

California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
San Luis Obispo, CA 93407
Dr. Warren J. Baker, President
(805) 756-1111

California State University, San Marcos
333 S. Twin Oaks Valley Road
San Marcos, CA 92096-0001
Dr. Alexander Gonzalez, President
(760) 750-4000

Sonoma State University
1801 East Cotati Avenue
Rohnert Park, CA 94928-3609
Dr. Ruben Armiñana, President
(707) 664-2880

California State University, Stanislaus
801 West Monte Vista Avenue
Turlock, CA 95382-0299
Dr. Marvalene Hughes, President
(209) 667-3122