During the national tumult of the McCarthy era, several SF State faculty lose their jobs for refusing to sign the Levering (Loyalty) Oath. (Left to right: Leonard Pockman, John Beecher, Marguerite Rowe, Frank Rowe, Eason Monroe, Phiz Mezey, and Herbert Bisno.) [Not present: Jack Patten, Lucy Hancock, and Charlotte Howard.]

Full story

(Photograph by Otto Hagel, courtesy of the Labor Archives and Research Center, SFSU)

SFSU Home    Search    Comments and Questions

SFSU, 1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132
Archived Information. Last modified March 20, 2009, by University Communications