SF State Facts 2008-2009 { University Communications }

Image: Photos of SF State students and scenes from around campus

Image of campus as envisioned in the SFSU Master Plan


















1899 as San Francisco State Normal School, a two-year teacher-training college. First normal school in nation to require high school diploma for admission.

University Milestones

First graduating class (36 women) 1901
First man admitted 1904
First bachelor of arts degree 1923
Four-year program initiated 1930
Liberal arts program first offered 1935
Master’s degree first offered 1949
SF State becomes part of The California State College system (now The California State University) 1960
University status attained 1972
Centennial celebration 1999

Number of Names: 5

San Francisco State Normal School 1899-1921
San Francisco State Teachers College 1921-1935
San Francisco State College 1935-1972
California State University, San Francisco 1972-1974
San Francisco State University 1974-present

Number of Presidents: 12

Frederic Lister Burk 1899-1924
Archibald B. Anderson 1924-1927
Alexander C. Roberts 1927-1945
J. Paul Leonard 1945-1957
Glenn S. Dumke 1957-1961
Paul A. Dodd 1962-1966
John Summerskill 1966-1968
Robert R. Smith 1968
Samuel I. Hayakawa 1968-1973
Paul F. Romberg 1973-1983
Chia-Wei Woo 1983-1988
Robert A. Corrigan 1988-present