sfsu logoorsp logo
Four interdisciplinary research Institutes and Centers, and six interdisciplinary research clusters (teams and groups) have been awarded
(ORSP Home)

Following ORSP’s Research and Creative Activities Faculty Retreat in March, an announcement was sent (Funding Opportunity Announcement ORSP 2009-001) inviting faculty to create interdisciplinary research clusters at SF State.  Diverse groups of faculty and staff met through the spring formulating their plans, and submitted proposals in May.  After review by both internal and external experts, and a second level of review by the Provost, AVP for Academic Affairs and cognizant Deans, the list of awardees is below.

Institutes and Centers

  • The Center for Bay Area Biodiversity, lead Greg Spicer
  • The Institute for Inclusive Media, lead Paul Beckman
  • Community-Based Participatory Collaborative Center, lead Juliana Van Olphen (with Jessica Fields and Nina Wallerstein)
  • The Center for Human Culture and Behavior, lead David Matsumoto


  • Language, Discourse and Social Action, lead David Olsher Team
  • Creativity: Applications of the Jazz Metaphor to Organizations, lead Ron Purser
  • Social and Technology Entrepreneurship at SF State Research Cluster, lead Sanjay Jain
  • Active Living Across the Lifespan, lead Susan Zieff
  • Research Methods Learning Community, lead Richard Harvey
  • Public Policy Research Group, lead Sheldon Gen
Return to Top |
Pre-AwardPost-AwardPersonnelComplianceFAQ'sContact UsHome |