San Francisco State University, Established 1899, 1600 Holloway Ave. SF, CA 94132

SFSU Public Affairs Press Release

Published by the Public Affairs Office at San Francisco State University, Lakeview Center

Contact: Matt Itelson
phone:(415) 338-1665

Violist Kim Kashkashian to perform at Morrison Artists Series

SAN FRANCISCO, March 8, 2001 -- The Morrison Artists Series at San Francisco State University presents violist Kim Kashkashian at 3 p.m. on Sunday, April 22, in McKenna Theatre, located in the Creative Arts Building on campus. Admission is free.

Her recital will include performances of Bach's Organ Sonata in E flat Major, BWV 525/C Major and BWV 529; Paul Hindemith's Sonata Op. 11, No. 4; György Kurtág's "Signs Games and Messages"; and Rebecca Clarke's Sonata for Viola and Piano.

Born in Detroit, Mich., of Armenian descent, Kashkashian graduated from the Peabody Conservatory of Music, where she studied with Walter Trampler and Karen Tuttle. She has appeared as a soloist with major orchestras in New York, Berlin, Vienna, London, Munich and Tokyo, and in recital at the Metropolitan Museum and the 92nd Street "Y" in New York, as well as major halls in Amsterdam, Zurich, Paris, Boston, San Francisco, Los Angeles and Washington, D.C.

Kashkashian works extensively with contemporary composers, including Kurtág, Alvin Brehm, Barbara Kolb, John Harbison, Giya Kancheli, Sofia Gubaidulina, Krzysztof Penderecki and Alfred Schnittke. An avid chamber musician, Kashakshian is a frequent participant at the Marlboro Music Festival and has performed as a guest artist with the Beaux Arts Trio and the Tokyo, Guarneri and Emerson string quartets. Since 1985, she has published six full-length releases on the ECM New Series, including her highly accl aimed double-disc set of the complete sonatas for viola by Paul Hindemith.

Acclaimed as "indispensable" by San Francisco Chronicle music critic Joshua Kosman, the Morrison Artists Series was created in 1952 with a bequest from the May Treat Morrison Estate. In the nearly 50 years since, the Morrison Artists Series has presented an annual program of free recitals by prominent chamber music ensembles. For details, call (415) 338-1358 or visit:

- ### -

SFSU Home   Search   Comments and Questions

SFSU, 1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132
Last modified April 24, 2007, by Office of Public Affairs