San Francisco State UniversityA-ZSearchNeed help?News

Volume 57, Number 17    December 14, 2009         

CampusMemo Home    Announcements    News    Events    Newsmakers dots  Insiders


President Robert A. Corrigan has been appointed an inaugural member of the Presidents' Trust, a leadership group within the Association of American Colleges and Universities, committed to advocating for the vision, values and practices that connect liberal education with the individual and societal needs of the 21st century.

Professor of Anthropology Sarah Soh received the Francis L.K. Hsu Prize honorable mention award for her book, "The Comfort Women," from the Society for East Asian Anthropology, a subdivision of the American Anthropological Association.

Professor of Philosophy Bas Van Fraasen was awarded the Giulio Preti Award by the Regional Council of Tuscany in Florence, Italy. The award recognizes scholars of international renown whose body of work promotes the growth of knowledge and democracy.

Assistant Professor of Philosophy Justin Tiwald was selected to receive the Dao Prize, given by the American Philosophy Association. The award recognizes the year's best essay in classical Chinese philosophy.

Political Science
Professor of Political Science Robert C. Smith drew comparisons between Barack Obama and John F. Kennedy when he spoke at a conference in November, marking the 40th anniversary of the journal The Black Scholar.


San Francisco State University Home     Search     Need Help?    

1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94132 415/338-1111
Last modified Dec. 14
, 2009, by University Communications