Holistic Health Learning Center

Image: Photos of SF State students and scenes from around campus

Holistic Health

Learning Center

Integrating Self, Culture & Nature

Birth & Children

Bay Area Resources – Pregnancy, Childbirth & Early Parenting

Awakenings Birth Services, traditional midwifery. www.awakeningsbirthservices.com
Bay Area Homebirth Collective, childbirth classes, midwives, etc. www.bayareahomebirth.org
Birth Ways, non-profit ed and resources for pregnancy, birth and parenting. www.birthways.org
Comadres Midwifery Services, co-creating memorable births. www.comadresmidwifery.com
Natural Resources, pregnancy, childbirth, early parenting resources. www.naturalresources-sf.com
Nest Midwifery, homebirth, waterbirth, labor support, www.nestmidwifery.com
MAIA, midwifery for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and all families. www.maiamidwifery.com
Re:Birth Midwifery, comprehensive perinatal care with Abigail Reagan. www.rebirthmidwifery.com
The Sacred Birth Place, an independent birthing and wellness center. www.sacredbirthplace.com
Sage Femme Midwifery Service, Inc., multidisciplinary practice. www.sagefemme.net


Birth Resources (Gentle Birth Focus)

Acupuncture (and Acupressure) in Pregnancy and Childbirth. http://acupuncture.rhizome.net.nz
Active Birth Centre, giving birth actively; everything birth related. http://www.activebirthcentre.com
American Pregnancy Assn, information for a healthy pregnancy. http://americanpregnancy.org
Birth Diaries, best site for birth stories accompanied by great photos. http://www.birthdiaries.com
Birth Psychology, prenatal & perinatal psychology and health: exploring the mental and
emotional dimensions of pregnancy, birth and parenting. http://www.birthpsychology.com
Bornfree, unassisted, sensual childbirth. http://www.unassistedchildbirth.com
Dr. Brewer Diet, for high risk moms to prevent preeclampsia, toxemia, premature birth, low
birth weight and other problems in pregnancy. http://www.blueribbonbaby.org
Cesarean Birth Information:
International Cesarean Awareness Network (ICAN), www.ican-online.org
Healing After Caesarean – Birth-rites. http://www.birthrites.org
Childbirth Connection, informed maternity care decisions. http://www.childbirthconnection.org
Childbirth Solutions, informed options for best birth experience: http://www.childbirthsolutions.com
Coalition for Improving Maternity Services, http://www.motherfriendly.org
Mother & Child Health, natural pregnancy, birth and parenting. http://www.motherandchildhealth.com
Obstetric Ultrasound, understanding ultrasound usage and safety. http://www.ob-ultrasound.net
Spinning Babies, easier birth through fetal positioning. http://www.spinningbabies.com
Waterbirth International, best site on water-birth information. http://www.waterbirth.org


Doulas & Midwifery

American College of Community Midwives, professional org. for  midwives who provide
physiologically-based maternity care in a community settings: http://www.Collegeofmidwives.org
American College of Nurse-Midwives. http://www.midwife.org
Black Midwives, International Center for Traditional Childbearing. http://www.blackmidwives.org
Dona International, oldest, largest organization for certifying and finding doulas. www.dona.org
Doula World, doula information and directory matching doulas, midwives, lactation consultants
and childbirth educators and pregnant couples. http://www.doulaworld.com
Ina May Gaskin’s site: midwife, author and activist for mothers and birthing. http://www.inamay.com
Journal of Midwifery and Women’s Health. http://www.jmwh.com
Midwives Alliance of North America, professional organization for midwives. http://www.mana.org
Midwifery Today, midwifery information site, full of resources. http://www.midwiferytoday.com


Developing Healthy Children

Attachment Parenting Blog, raising children with love. http://www.apparenting.com
Baby Reference, evidence behind natural, instinctual parenting/attachment parenting and
breastfeeding, food allergies, colic, SIDS, ADHD, cow's milk, etc. http://thebabybond.com
Breastfeeding.com, breastfeeding information and support. http://www.breastfeeding.com
La Leche League International, breastfeeding advocates. www.llli.org
Breastfeeding Pharmacology, questions about medications crossing over into the milk for
breastfeeding moms. http://neonatal.ttuhsc.edu/lact
Breast-Friends, breastfeeding resources and information. www.breast-friends.org
The Case Against Circumcision, a concise article by Paul M. Fleiss, MD, MPH, asst. professor
of pediatrics, Univ. of So. California Med Center. www.mothersagainstcirc.org/fleiss.html
Circumcision Information Resource Centers (National Organization of),a national clearinghouse
and international network (110 centers) for information about circumcision. www.nocirc.org
Elaine M. Gibson’s Insights on Parenting. www.elainegibson.net/parenting
Healthy Child, natural and safe products for healthy, vibrant children. www.healthychild.com
Kinder Start, a great search engine for parents. www.kinderstart.com
Labor of Love, web magazine for conscious birth and parenting. www.thelaboroflove.com
National Vaccine Information Center, latest research in vaccination safety. www.909shot.com

SF State Home